Dotty Andragogy

The amusing musings of an adult educator in the corporate training world.

Flipped Classrooms

on October 18, 2014

What is a flipped classroom? The flipped classroom is a pedagogical model in which the typical lecture and homework elements of a course are reversed. There is no single model for the flipped classroom—the term is widely used to describe almost any class structure that provides prerecorded lectures followed by in-class exercises. I use this strategy in my classrooms quite often, as I find it frees up more time in class for active learning activities. The tips in this following video are quite helpful:

I specifically like the point about keeping the length of videos/lectures under ten minutes. Personally, if a video is any longer than five to six minutes, I will put it off until later. Easy solution: if any lectures are longer than ten minutes, I could break it up into shorter segments. Maybe I could add a cliffhanger at the end of each video to get my students on the edge of their seats for the next one. Wishful thinking? Yeah, probably. I’m probably the only one who thinks our lessons are riveting stuff. I’m no Walter White.

Leave a Reply

